Nanci Writes
Write Speak Play
Podcasting on Substack
2
0:00
-13:16

Podcasting on Substack

It's a little different
2

If you’ve known me for long, you probably know I’ve dabbled in podcasting.

It started in 2009 with Page Readers interviewing self-published “Indie” authors who, at the time, were considered renegades bucking the system of gatekeepers keeping the small-time writer from their shot at ‘real’ publishing. The show lasted a couple of years until I suffered from the burnout of running a hobby like a business that paid like a hobby. I shut down the show to focus on the book development and editing word that did pay almost like a real job.

By the end of 2018, I was starting thinking of starting a new podcast with a slightly different focus. I would still talk about stories, but this time the stories would be from women who are sharing something they’ve had to learn to heal from - or were still in the process.

I didn’t get around to actually launching Write, Speak, Play on Anchor.fm until the beginning of 2020. Then March happened and the upheaval in everyone’s lives meant my guest lineup changed, guests canceled as they wrangled child care or changed work schedules. I let this idea slide a bit. There were a couple of interviews here and there.

The Write Speak Play podcast still exists - it’s just not consistent. The format changes, one episode might be all me, and another might have a dash of poetry or an essay written by someone else. And as far as an episode release schedule - forgetaboutit. For the moment at least.

Long story short (HAHA) I thought I’d try the podcasting feature here on substack and see how it goes. It means there won’t be a pre-recorded intro or outro (fancy speak for the last couple of sentences before signing off), it will just be me saying hi, sharing what’s been going on, and then saying bye. I don’t plan to have a script, just good notes to go by. (I’m putting into practice the tools I’ve learned to present a good speech or tell a great story from the amazing instructors at PVCC!! Thank you!)

Let me know what you think? Got anything questions you want me to answer? Did I start talking about something and forgot to finish? Your feedback and support are appreciated. 🌱

Garden of Neuro Institute Website

A Safe & Brave Space Anthology of Poetry and Art Volume 1

My experience in the Inner MBA

2 Comments
Nanci Writes
Write Speak Play
When women share their stories, the world changes so many words at a time.
Episodes range from interviews, essays, speeches, poetry, and fiction. There are series too, the Fictional Dystopian Diaries, Mic Drops, and interviews with women who have a lot to share. And every once in a while, I’ll throw in some music too.
Subscribe and listen on-demand as this space hosts women from many walks of life to share their story, speak their truth, and learn to play this infinite game of life while making the world a better place, one word, one story at a time. Support this podcast: <a href="https://anchor.fm/writespeakplay/support" rel="payment">https://anchor.fm/writespeakplay/support</a>